10 Link Building Tools Reviewed

17 May

I have written about useful link building tools here in more than one occasion, but I still get questions about which tools to use (or not) quite regularly. This made me decide to write reviews of the most useful and/ or well-known link building tools available on the market.

The first set of reviews includes reviews of four free link building tools, and six paid link building tools. One of these paid link building tools is Influence Finder, a great tool that is being launched at SMX Advanced London at this very moment.

I will continue to add new tools to the list of tools, starting with the tools that I have already listed. If you want me to review your tool, or to test a tool you’ve heard of and want to know if it’s any good, feel free to let me know.

Free link building tools

Link Diagnosis
Majestic SEO Free tools
MyBlogGuest (coming soon)
Open Site Explorer
Yahoo! Site Explorer

Premium link building tools

Advanced Link Manager
BuzzStream (coming soon)
Enquisite Linker (coming soon)
Influence Finder
Link Assistant (coming soon)
Link Research Tools
Majestic SEO
Ontolo Link Building Toolkit (coming soon)
Raven SEO Tools (coming soon)
SEObook Premium Tools
SEOmoz Premium Tools

You can find all link building tools I have reviewed, or will be reviewing in the near future, right here: link building tools.

24 Responses to “10 Link Building Tools Reviewed”

  1. Matt Mikulla May 17, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Great list Wiep. I haven’t tried several of those yet.

    Thanks for the Raven Tools mention. Let me know if you want a webex demo and we’ll set something up. We’ve invested quite a bit of time on our link building tool system.

  2. Ann Smarty May 17, 2010 at 6:38 pm #

    Thanks for the list. I love tools (yeah, you may be aware of that LOL)

    I do also hope that that “coming soon” notice next to MyBlogGuest means that I can expect a review at Wiep.net ;)

  3. Paul May May 17, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Thanks for including BuzzStream in your list, Wiep. Great list to be a part of.

    We’ve made a ton of improvements to the product over the last few months, with lots more in the works right now. I’d love to walk you through the product and show you what we’re working on.

  4. Wiep May 17, 2010 at 7:22 pm #

    @Matt: Thanks. I have played with Raven Tools in the past for a while and have promised Jon to review the tool then as well. Will send you an email soon ;)

    @Ann: Yes, it does :) I hope to publish reviews of the other six tools (probably with one or more extra added to the list) somewhere in June.

    @Paul: Sounds good, thanks for the offer!

  5. Arnie | Vertical Measures May 17, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    Hi Wiep, good list. Really like the insights too. We use many of those tools in-house, but don’t believe we have tried Influence Finder yet.

    BTW anyone reading this post might be interested to know that we are running an interview series on our blog of execs from different companies offering link building tools. Including Garret from Ontolo, Rand from SEOMoz, Eric from Adgooroo, Taylor from Raven and Aaron from SEOBook. The series starts on May 19.

  6. Andrew | Web Design Bangkok May 18, 2010 at 4:12 am #

    Thanks for this list. I already use Yahoo Site Explorer all the time and will check out the others you mention.

    I wonder though if there’s a tool out there that can show ONLY the links that Google shows when you’re logged in to your webmaster account

  7. Matt May 18, 2010 at 7:54 am #

    Hi Wiep, we’d love you to take a look at SeededBuzz, it has some of Anne’s Guest Posting features with additional blogger to blogger link building features. It’s also free for brands to pitch thousands of bloggers in order to build links.

  8. Dixon Jones May 18, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    :)

    MajesticSEO owes you beer :)

    Dixon.

  9. Wiep May 19, 2010 at 6:27 am #

    @Arnie: Thanks :) And that sound like an interesting series!

    @Andrew: Not that I know of, except GWMT of course.

    @Matt: SeededBuzz looks interesting, I’ll add it to the list!

    @Dixon: I’d love to ;)

  10. Robert Dreher May 19, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    A very usefull list Wiep. I trust your opions about these tools so I can quickly and easily make choices. Till know I’ve worked with link assistent and open site explorer. Personaly I enjoy working with open site explorer. I’m interested in your opion about the Ontolo tool because I see Ontolo – like your site – as a trusted link building source.

  11. Thomas Eilander May 20, 2010 at 12:04 am #

    Interesting list. Link Diagnosis is a pretty nice tool, although I prefer the classic version which still can be found at classic.linkdiagnosis.com

  12. Martin Schweitzer May 20, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    Thanks for the linkbuilding-tools comparison. I’ve long searched for such an overview. By the way, in germany many agencies are preferring self-coded link-diagnosis tools.

  13. Matt Cutts May 20, 2010 at 10:10 pm #

    Good article. Will keep my eye on these tools… and also on your blog… Just don’t buy too much links, or else you will be banned.

  14. Ann Smarty May 21, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    OK, is anyone going to comment on the last comment? :)

  15. Wiep May 21, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

    @Robert: I was planning on including Ontolo’s link building tools in this first set of reviews, but I didn’t have enough time to review it properly just yet, unfortunately.

    @Thomas: you’re right, the old version is great as well!

    @Martin: That’s not just in Germany ;)

    @Ann: Unless Matt is currently visiting Hungary, I’m pretty sure that’s not the real Matt Cutts :)

  16. Mark van Loon May 26, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    WOW! Wieb, it’s quite an honnor if matt personaly warns you about selling or buying links!

    By the way: nice article, i’m going to use those tools!

  17. WilliamC May 26, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    I love how Influence finder came out one week after LinkHound was released, but at 10x the price. LOL.

  18. Warner Carter May 27, 2010 at 8:25 pm #

    not actually Matt I am thinking. If it is he is talking out of character. Matt is usually more diplomatic and cryptic than that comment.

  19. Ann Smarty May 27, 2010 at 9:11 pm #

    @Warner, no, this is definitely not him LOL

  20. Katie June 3, 2010 at 12:53 am #

    Thanks for sharing; I haven’t used all of these so definitely want to check them out. I recently found a new site called wordloo. It’s a SEO tool that is very helpful for link building.

  21. Dave June 18, 2010 at 4:35 am #

    I have used LinkAssistant.com and it seemed to work pretty well. It is really feature rich and the software developer is really hands on. Not really sure why I quit link building, maybe I need to add it to my to-do list. All in all, I give it a thumbs up.

  22. Michelle July 6, 2010 at 9:13 pm #

    Great reviews Wiep!
    SEO Fox has a linkbuilding tool worthy of adding to your list. If you get a chance to review our backlink report tool, it would be greatly appreciated! Many thanks.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

  1. SearchCap: The Day In Search, May 17, 2010 - May 17, 2010

    […] 10 Link Building Tools Reviewed, wiep.net […]

  2. Weekly Search & Social News: 05/25/2010 | Search Engine Journal - May 25, 2010

    […] 10 Link Building Tools Reviewed – Wiep […]

Liked this post? Share it!

del.icio.usFacebookStumbleUponTwitter